The Student News Site of Marion Center Area High School

The Stinger

81° Marion Center, PA

The Stinger

The Stinger

Book Review: The Shadow Children Sequence

Shadow Children Wiki Fandom
Shadow Children Wiki Fandom

Do you love to read? What about dystopian fiction? If the answer to both of these questions is yes, then you should consider reading this thrilling series by Margaret Peterson Haddix. 

The Shadow Children Sequence takes place on a futuristic version of Earth, where third children are illegal. Why? After facing famines and droughts, there is an insufficient amount of food for a growing population. The government concludes that each family can only have two children, so there will be enough food for everyone. Somehow, people are still starving, and for those who break the population law, there is a punishment of death for their entire family. 

There are several main characters throughout the series, but the one who takes the major role in The Shadow Children Sequence is a twelve-year-old third child named Luke Garner. He is just an ordinary boy. He’s never done anything to hurt his country but unfairly is considered illegal just because he was born third in his family. His whole life he’s been hiding, fearing the dreaded Population Police.

During the first book, Among the Hidden, Luke meets another third child, Jen Talbot. She introduces Luke to other third children or “Shadow Children” through an online chat room.

Jen challenges Luke about his beliefs in freedom, “Do you want to hide all your life, or do you want to change history?” she asks. 

Jen is determined to free all third children and organizes a rally. It scares Luke when she says she’s making signs that say “Give me liberty or give me death.” He wonders if she’s going to die. Jen and Luke fall into a fight when Luke admits he’s too afraid to go to the rally.

At the end of the book, everything explodes. After Jen leaves to go to the rally, Luke doesn’t see her for a long time and begins to worry if she’s ever coming back. Could she truly be gone? Luke meets a Population Police, and he fears for the life of not just himself, but his family as well. Will Luke ever be able to change the world like Jen had wanted or will third children be illegal forever?

The Shadow Children Sequence is a seven-book series: Among the Hidden, Among the Imposters, Among the Betrayed, Among the Barons, Among the Brave, Among the Enemy, and the thrilling conclusion, Among the Free.

In the final book, Among the Free, characters you’ve come to know and love stand up to fight for freedom from the Population Police. Among the Free is full of inspiring quotes and speeches such as, “Everyone’s free now. I have a choice. And sometimes it takes a kid to show adults the truth.”

Action, drama, Population Police, betrayals, and adventure with fake IDs in the mix. You can’t go wrong with The Shadow Children Sequence.


Donate to The Stinger

Your donation will support the student journalists of Marion Center Area High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Abigail Abd, Writer
“You don't write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.” -F. Scott Fitzgerald  
My name is Abigail Abd. I play trombone in the Marion Center Marching Band, along with concert band. I am also a member of the Junior High Choir. I joined the newspaper because I love writing, and think it's a good way to share my opinions.
Donate to The Stinger